Who is the head of Marthoma Church?

How many diocese are there in the Marthoma Church?

The present Diocesan bishop is His Lordship Dr Issac Mar Philoxenos Episcopa. As of 2020 there are 71 parishes and 7 congregations under this diocese.

Mar Thoma Syrian Church Diocese of North America & Europe.

Malankara Mar Thoma Syrian Church. Diocese of North America & Europe.
Primate Theodosius Mar Thoma Metropolitan
Language Malayalam, English, Syriac

What is Suffragan metropolitan?

In the Roman Catholic Church, a suffragan is a bishop who heads a diocese. … The metropolitan has few responsibilities over the suffragans in his province and no direct authority over the faithful outside of his own diocese. Bishops who assist diocesan bishops are usually called auxiliary bishops.

How are marthoma bishops buried?

The Metropolitan is the head of the Church and the Episcopa is the diocesan bishop. However, it added: “This could be permitted only after the burial service is completed at the parish.” “The mortal remains after cremation must be buried in either the family vault or single vault,” it added.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you turn to Jesus?